Eclectic Mainline 2nd May 2012

There were several tunes in tonight’s show that I thought were quite wonderful.  One of them was this gorgeous tune by From The Mouth of the Sun:

Mention must also go to the Muddy Waters Blues Band release, Mud In Your Ear.  Luther “Snake Boy” Johnson led the band on this one, when recorded in 1967.  There were apparently contractual reasons why Muddy Waters himself could not lead the band.  It stands up well and is recognisably Muddy in character.

If you wish to listen again to tonight’s whole show, you’ll find it on the BCB Listen Again service for 2nd May 2012. Here’s a full list of the tunes I played:

Malorix – “Stretch Out Your Frown (Zea remix)” (12″ – “Malorix Remixed and Recycled”) (Makkum)
AM & Shawn Lee – “Dark Into Light” (single and LP – “Celestial Electric”) (Eighteenth Street Lounge)
Cate Le Bon – “Through The Mill” (LP – “CYRK”) (OVNI/Turnstile)
Das Politics – “Sourcloud” (LP – “Blitz Glazer”) (Sub Rosa)
Milagres – “Halfway” (single) (Memphis Industries)
Philippe Petit & Friends – “Eunoïa” (LP – “Cordophony”) (Home Normal)
Blockhead – “Never Forget Your Token” (LP – “Interlude After Midnight”) (Ninja Tune)
Muddy Waters Blues Band – “Evil” (CD – “Mud In Your Ear”) (Douglas Records / Wienerworld)
Füxa – “Some Things Last A Long Time” (LP – “Electric Sound Of Summer”) (Rocket Girl)
Husky – “History’s Door” (single and LP – “Forever So”) (Sub Pop)
Pieter Nooten – “Drone” (LP – “Surround Us”) (Rocket Girl)
Spoek Mathambo – “Kites” (single and LP – “Father Creeper”) (Sub Pop)
From The Mouth Of The Sun – “Sitting In A Roofless Room” (LP – “Woven Tide”) (Experimedia)