Eclectic Mainline playlist – 16th Sept 2009

F*ck Buttons - Surf Solar

F*ck Buttons - Surf Solar

There are some fantastic things coming out of the All Tomorrow’s Parties record label at the moment, what with great new releases by APSE and F*ck Buttons this month.  To be honest, this is not a rare treat, as ATP have consistently been releasing top notch music for a good few years.  And their releases tend to be worth owning physically too, because as with 4AD you can usually be sure of a nicely put together artifact.  The new F*ck Buttons single is coming out (5th October, I believe) on a nice 7″ picture disc.  And to top it all, this weekend I’ll be in Sheffield on Saturday for the Warp20 event at Park Hill Flats where among a selection of Warp Records videos, and the UK premiere of The Living Room, the new All Tomorrow’s Parties film will also be shown.

Anyway, below are the tunes I’ve played on BCB over the past few days, and it’s a bumper list.  As well as my usual show last night, on Sunday morning I was a guest on Ben Mussanzi’s Peace Music programme, and this morning I filled in for Mary Dowson on About Bradford, BCB’s morning magazine show.

17th September – Peace Music
(Presenter: by Ben Mussanzi; guest: me)
Boards Of Canada – Roygbiv
Pepe Kalle – Roger Milla
Steel Pulse – Ku Klux Klan
Trashcan Sinatras – Weightlifting
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – In The Ghetto
Cat Power – Paths To Victory
Teenage Fanclub – The Concept

16th September – Eclectic Mainline
The Datsuns – Cruel Cruel Fate
Dieter Moebius – Start
Peter Broderick – Not At Home
Cancel The Astronauts – I Am The President Of Your Fanclub (And Last Night I Followed You Home)
Anti-Pop Consortium – Volcano (Four Tet remix instrumental)
APSE – The Whip
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – Dandy Brain Cannula
Get Back Guinozzi  – Police And Thieves
F*ck Buttons – Surf Solar
M̼m РBlow Your Nose
Hudson Mohawke – Zoo000m
Tyondai Braxton – Uffe’s Woodshop
The Very Best Of – Julia
Metronomy – Not made for love
Thom Yorke – All For The Best (from Ciao My Shining Star – the songs of Mark Mulcahy)

17th September – About Bradford
Choir Of Young Believers – Next Summer
The Broken Family Band – Cinema Vs. House
Fever Ray – Seven
Fool’s Gold – Surprise Hotel
Micah P. Hinson – This Old Guitar
Slow Club – Trophy Room
Metronomy – Do The Right Thing
Fanfarlo – The Walls Are coming Down
Mew – Introducing Palace Players
The Autmumn Defense – Paradise  (from Ciao My Shining Star – the songs of Mark Mulcahy)
Trashcan Sinatras – Easy On the Eye
New Model Army – Autumn
Cate Le Bon – Sad Sad Feet
Dirty Projectors – Cannibal Resource
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – The Rider Song