Tag Archives: 2013

Eclectic Mainline 2013 review – part 2

Following on from last week’s programme, my first show of 2014 completes my two-part review of 2013.  You can listen back to the whole programme via the wonders of Mixcloud:

You will also find the full programme on the BCB Listen Again service.

Last.fm doesn’t seem to be going away, but neither does it seem particularly vital in 2014. But for what it’s worth, I’ve shared my my top 10 Last.fm artist for 2013 on Google+.

Here is the track list from tonight’s programme:

The Knife – ‘Full Of Fire’ (LP – Shaking The Habitual) (Rabid) (video)
Jeffrey Lewis and The Rain – ‘WWPRD’ (WWPRD EP) (Rough Trade)
Machinedrum – ‘Eyesdontlie’ (LP – Vapor City) (Ninja Tune) (video)
Steve Mason – ‘Come To Me’ (LP – Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time) (Double Six)
Mogwai – ‘Special N’ (LP – Les Revenants) (Rock Action)
No Age – ‘C’mon Stimmung’ (LP – An Object) (Sub Pop) (SoundCloud)
Oneohtrix Point Never – ‘Zebra’ (LP – R Plus Seven) (Warp) (SoundCloud)
Phosphorescent – ‘Song For Zula’ (LP – Muchacho) (Dead Oceans) (SoundCloud)
Mark Pritchard – ‘Ghosts’ (EP – Ghosts) (Warp) http://youtu.be/IaUX1u1s4FQ
Raffertie – ‘One Track Mind’ (LP – Sleep Of Reason) (Ninja Tune)
These New Puritans – ‘V (Island Song)’ (LP – Field of Reeds) (infectious) (video)
Kurt Vile – ‘Never Run Away’ (LP – Wakin On A Pretty Daze) (Matador) (video)

There is one tune I forgot to include, one of my favourite singles of 2013, this by The Uncluded:

A Bumper Buffet New Year Special (#57)

Happy New Year!

The Head Honchos at BCB entrusted us with the task of seeing in the New Year, and somehow we managed not to break anything (although Betty Bird did inadvertently knock the needle from Emma Bob 3’s Nadine Shah record when playing with her Hello Kitty Christmas gifts). We played a lot of good music between 11pm and 1pm and you can pretend it’s midnight all over again by listening to part one and part two via BCB’s nifty podcast thingy. (A parental advisory warning – there are a few sweary bits post midnight). And we did the typical end of year round up thingy by chucking in a few 2013 favourites as well as tips for 2014.

A HUGE thank you to everyone who sent in requests and suggestions!

This is what we played:

1. Prince – 1999
2. David Bowie – Boys Keep Swinging
3. Future of the Left – Johnny Borrell Afterlife
4. Cowtown – Ghost Wave
5. Foals – Impaler
6. Courtney Barnett – Lance Jnr
7. Nadine Shah – Dreary Town
8. Daft Punk – Get Lucky
9. Jeffery Lewis and the Rain – WWPRD
10. Tera Melos – Weird Circles
11. Marnie Stern – Year of the Glad
12. Stereolab – French Disko
13. Beastie Boys – Sabotage
14. Electric 6 – Gay Bar
15. Shirley Bassey – Spinning Wheel
16. Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now
17. McClusky – Lightsabre Cocksucking Blues
18. Fuck Buttons – Year of the Dog
19. Olivia Newton John & ELO – Xanadu
20. Hot Chip – Ready for the Floor
21. Notsensibles – I’m in Love With Margaret Thatcher
22. Los Nortes Americanos – Something
23. Suuns – 2020
24. Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five – White Lines
25. The Knife – Full of Fire

Thank you LOADS if you’ve tuned into Buffet in 2013. We’re back on Sunday 26th January at 7pm. Big hugs to you all and have an ace 2014!

Team Buffet x

Eclectic Mainline 2013 review – part 1

This week’s programme was going to be full of festive cheer, what with it being on 25th December. But then when I started to plan next week’s look back at 2013 and I realised I had far too much good music from the past 12 months for one showt. So no Christmas tunes this week. Anyway, if you really want festive tunes, you could do no better than listen to Phil Cope’s Christmas mix, recorded live during the WIN Christmas special a couple of weeks ago.

You can listen back to my programme in full courtesy of the wonders of Mixcloud:

You will also find the full programme on the BCB Listen Again service. Here is the track list:

Bleached – ‘Dreaming Without You’ (LP – Ride Your Heart) (Dead Oceans)
Boards of Canada – ‘New Seeds’ (LP – Tomorrow’s Harvest) (Warp)
Bill Callahan – ‘Javalin Unlanding’ (LP – Dream River) (Drag City)
The Cairo Gang – ‘Tiny Rebels’ (LP – Tiny Rebels) (Emtpy Cellar) (Soundcloud)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘Jubilee Street’ (LP – Push The Sky Away) (self-released) (video)
Deerhunter – ‘Neon Junkyard’ (LP – Monomania) (4AD)
Nils Frahm – ‘Says’ (LP – Spaces) (Erased Tapes) (Soundcloud)
Fuck Buttons – ‘The Red Wing’ (LP – Slow Focus) (ATP) (video)
Daughn Gibson – ‘You Don’t Fade’ (LP – Me Moan) (Sub Pop) (Soundcloud)
Kink Gong – ‘Baozoo Khen’ (LP – Voices) (Discrepant)

There is one song I would like to have played in this show, but not having a radio edit of it, I couldn’t. It’s GMF, by John Grant. One of the highlights of 2013 was seeing him have the gaul to sing this in a busy shopping centre when he did an instore performance at Jumbo Records.