Tag Archives: Georgia Sea Island Singers

Eclectic Mainline 3rd July 2013

A digression…

I’m starting this blog with a break from the norm. Rather than showing you tunes I played on BCB this evening, here are some I didn’t play.

The reason I didn’t play ‘Dies Irae’ by Gonzo is because it is possibly the most scarce release I have ever heard of. It is limited to just 30 cassettes, and the Soundcloud clip below is the closest there is to a digital version:

I’ve recently seen (twice: once at the ATP Festival, and once at the 1 in 12 Club in Bradford) the excellent presentation by Eric Isaacson of Mississippi Records. I bought several of the label’s LPs and intended to play a couple of tunes in my show, but a couple of technical glitches meant I couldn’t play any vinyl in the studio tonight. So, here’s the song by the Georgia Sea Island Singers that I would have played if able tonight:

Something I saw on the ATP TV channel at the recent festival was this amazing Bollywood rendition of a few nursery rhymes:

On with the show…

Now, onto tunes that I did play tonight. This excellent new tune from Mark Pritchard:

… ‘Basin’ by Fawn Spots:

…a welcome return from Fuck Buttons:

…and ‘Everlasting’ by Grey Reverend:

You’ll find the full show on the BCB Listen Again page for 3rd July. Here’s the full playlist:

Jon Hopkins – ‘We Disappear’ (LP – Immunity) (Domino)
Kurt Vile – ‘Was All Talk’ (LP – Wakin On A Pretty Daze) (Matador)
Jamie Lidell – ‘Do Yourself A Favour’ (double a-side single with Big Love) (Warp)
Fawn Spots – ‘Basin’ (split single with Scott & Charlene’s Wedding) (Critical Heights)
Sigur Rós – ‘Stormur’ (LP – Kveikur) (XL
Grey Reverend – ‘Everlasting’ (single) (Motion Audio)
Fuck Buttons – ‘The Red Wing’ (single) (ATP)
Guided By Voices – ‘W/ Glass In Foot’ (LP – English Little League) (Fire)
Motoomi Doi – ‘Dark Night’ (LP – The Illuminated Nightingale) (Noble)
Machinedrum – ‘Eyesdontlie’ (single) (Ninja Tune)
Vampire Weekend – ‘Unbelievers’ (single and LP – Modern Vampires Of The City) (XL)
Mark Pritchard – ‘Ghosts’ (Ghosts EP) (Warp)