Eclectic Mainline 24th April 2013

One of the (numerous) highlights of this year’s Bradford International Film Festival was Adam Buxton’s Best of BUG show.  In the Pictureville cinema he screened videos of several tunes that I have heard, and that I like, but have never seen. I don’t always get to see videos so it was a real eye-opener to see what amazing pieces of art have been created in the name of a music video recently, such as these by Shogu Tokumaru,  Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Bonobo.

Adam didn’t discuss the evolution of the music video, which I thought he might.  I find it interesting how we have moved beyond the MTV era and are now in the YouTube era whereby, to the best of my knowledge, most music video consumption is now online.   Gone are the days when I used to eagerly await The Chart Show once every 3rd Saturday morning on ITV to see if I might get to see a video by one of my favourite bands in the show’s Indie Top 10.

Anyway, moving seamlessly on from Adam’s BIFF show, the video for the next Bonobo single is also rather satisfying:

Other tunes I played in this week’s show include the new single by Marnie Stern:

..this from the new Locust album:

…and the new Bleached single:

If you wish to listen back to the show, you’ll find it on the BCB Listen Again service (look for the 8pm show).  This is the full playlist:

Atoms For Peace – ‘Before Your Very Eyes’ (single and LP – Amok) (XL)
The Flaming Lips – ‘Always There… In Our Hearts” (LP – The Terror) (Bella Union)
Pinkunoizu – ‘Moped’ (Second Amendment EP) (Full Time Hobby)
Orchestre Poly-Rythmo De Cotonou – ‘Houzou Houzou Wa’ (LP – Volume 3: The Skeletal Essences Of Voodoo Funk) (Analog Africa)
Bleached – ‘Dead In Your Head’ (single) (Dead Oceans)
Locust – ‘Oh Yeah’ (LP – You’ll Be Safe Forever) (Editions Mego)
Hyetal – ‘Northwest Passage’ (single) (True Panther)
The Pastels – ‘Check My Heart’ (single) (Domino)
Van Halen – ‘Eruption’ (LP – Van Halen) (Warner) (this week’s Brief Candle)
Marnie Stern – ‘Year Of The Glad’ (single and LP – The Chronicles of Marnia) (Kill Rock Stars)
AOKI takamasa – ‘Rhythm Variation 02’ (LP – RV8) (Raster Noton)
Mick Harvey – ‘Glorious’ (LP – FOUR (Acts Of Love)) (Mute)
Bonobo – ‘First Fires’ (LP – The North Borders) (Ninja Tune)


1 thought on “Eclectic Mainline 24th April 2013

Comments are closed.