Tag Archives: Lorelle Meets The Obsolete

Eclectic Mainline 9th April 2014

Since I announced last week that I’m stopping Eclectic Mainline at the end of April, I’ve been touched by the responses I have had.  Thanks ever so much for all the comments and good wishes.  I was particularly moved by Phil’s blog post.  He’s right when he says new music “exposes [people] to things that are happening now and encourages them to look outside the norms to different possibilities and opportunities”.  Well said Phil.

So, speaking of new music, this week’s programme included Lorelle Meets The Obsolete:

… Mungo’s Hi-Fi:


… and Shonen Knife:

You will find the full programme on the BCB Listen Again service.  Here is the track list:

Daniel Avery – Drone Logic (single) (Phantasy/Because Music) SoundCloud
Lorelle Meets The Obsolete – Sealed Scene (single and LP – Chambers) (Sonic Cathedral) SoundCloud
The Phantom Band – The Wind That Cried the World (single) (Chemikal Underground) SoundCloud
Tiny Ruins – Me At The Museum, You In The Wintergardens (single and LP – Brightly Painted One) (Bella Union) SoundCloud
Mungo’s Hi-Fi – Under Arrest (Prince Fatty mix) (LP – Prince Fatty vs Mungo’s Hi-Fi) (Scotch Bonnet) SoundCloud
Slow Club – Complete Surrender (single and LP – Complete Surrender) (Caroline International) YouTube
Ambassadeurs – Rain (free download) SoundCloud
Scott & Charlene’s Wedding – Junk Shop (LP – Any Port In A Storm (Deluxe Version)) (Fire)
Teebs – Mondaze (LP – E s t a r a) (Brainfeeder)
Shonen Knife – Bad Luck Song (LP – Overdrive) (Damnably) YouTube
Ratking feat. King Krule – So Sick Stories (single) (XL / HXC) Vimeo
Liars – Pro Anti Anti (LP – Mess) (Mute) YouTube
tUnE-yArDs – Water Fountain (single) (4AD) YouTube
Cate Le Bon – Sisters (single and LP – Mug Museum) (Turnstile)
France Jobin – -1/2 (LP – The Illusion Of Infinitesimal) (Baskaru)

Eclectic Mainline 25th September 2013

New tunes this week from Euros Childs:

…Congo Natty:

…Lorelle Meets The Obsolete:

…and Of Montreal:

For the first time, you can hear my show again on the BCB Audioboo channel. Here’s the track list:

King Krule – ‘The Krockadile’ (LP – 6 Feet Beneath The Moon) (XL)
Blouse – ‘Imperium’ (single) (Captured Tracks)
Euros Childs – ‘Tête à Tête’ (single) (National Elf)
Ski Lodge – ‘Does It Bring You Down’ (LP – Big Heart) (Dovecoat)
Opdot – ‘Lamentette (Circle Traps remix)’ (single) (Just)
Of Montreal – ‘Fugitive Air’ (single) (Polyvinyl)
Las Kellies – ‘Jealousy (featuring Dennis Bovell)’ (single and LP – Total Exposure) (Fire)
His Clancyness – ‘Safe Around The Edges’ (single) (FatCat)
Schneider TM – ‘First Of May’ (LP – Guitar Sounds) (Bureau B)
Congo Natty – ‘Get Ready VIP (feat. Nanci Correia, Daddy Freddy, Phoebe “Irondread” Hibbert)’ (single) (Big Dada)
Jeffrey Lewis – ‘What Would Pussy Riot Do’ (single) (Rough Trade)
Bill Callahan – ‘Winter Road’ (LP – Dream River) (Drag City)
Temple Songs – ‘I Can’t Look After You’ (single) (RIP)
Lorelle Meets The Obsolete – ‘What’s Holding You?’ (single and LP – Chambers) (Sonic Cathedral)
Belle and Sebastian – ‘Meat and Potatoes’ (LP – The Third Eye Centre) (Rough Trade)